PNC Students Inducted in Phi Eta Sigma Honor Society

By: Purdue University Northwest Last Updated: May 18, 2010

The Purdue University North Central chapter of Phi Eta Sigma freshman national honor society recently welcomed 26 student members during its fifth annual induction ceremony. PNC

PNC was granted its charter into this prestigious honor society in 2006 with the induction 30 student members and 5 honorary members into our chapter. In 2007, 19 students we inducted, 2008 saw 30 inducted and in 2009, the chapter welcomed 41 students and 1 honorary member.

Phi Eta Sigma was founded nationally by three distinguished Phi Beta Kappa professors at the University of Illinois in 1923 to encourage and recognize high scholastic achievement among members of the freshman class. Membership is open to all freshmen who have a cumulative grade-point average of at least 3.5 on a 4.0 scale. Phi Eta Sigma is the third most senior member of the Association of College Honor Societies. Lifetime membership is conferred upon induction.

Student members may apply for scholarships provided by the national organization. One of the first PNC student members, Athena Evan who was inducted in 2006, received a $1000 undergraduate award.

The newly inducted members are: Suzanne Bartholomew, Michigan City; Anna Boller, Michigan City; Jessica Dilling, Michigan City; Anas Drief, Michigan City; Spencer Edgington, Michigan City; Kristina Ellis, Valparaiso; Brittany Fickes, Michigan City; Lyndsay Flores, North Judson; Adam Fogus, Michigan City; Kristen Forti, Rolling Prairie; Allison Frye, LaPorte; Lisa Gilyan-Davison, Valparaiso; Richard Gleim, LaPorte; John Herman, Valparaiso; Bryan Hoffmaster, Michigan City; Therese Hoffmaster, New Carlisle; Nathan Jones, Valparaiso; Rupert Kurmis, Valparaiso; David Makina, LaPorte; Rebecca Marmo, Michigan City; Jennifer McVeigh, Portage; Mark Michalec, Valparaiso; Natalie Pomeroy, Porter; Kaitlin Shocaroff, Hobart; Megan Staroscsak, Westville and Daniel Wolfe, Westville