NIRPC Commission Elects Executive Board for 2016

jim-tron-miloThe Northwestern Indiana Regional Planning Commission (NIRPC) Full Commission elected the 2016 Executive Board at its February Full Commission meeting. 2015 Chair Blair Milo, Mayor of La Porte, passed the gavel to Vice-President of the Chesterton Town Council Jim Ton, Chair for 2016.

"It is an honor and a privilege to have this opportunity to serve as Chairman of NIRPC," Ton said. "The current and potential impact of this vital organization is of significant importance to all the citizens of Lake, Porter and LaPorte Counties. I am looking forward to this opportunity to serve the taxpayers of our collective communities."

The other officers for 2016 are:

  • Vice-Chair: Michael Griffin, Highland
  • Clerk-Treasurer Treasurer: Diane Noll, Wanatah
  • Clerk-Treasurer Secretary: Geof Benson,Beverly Shores Town Council
  • Executive Board (Lake County): Mayor Anthony Copeland, Mayor of East Chicago
  • Executive Board (Lake County): Tom McDermott, Mayor of Hammond
  • Executive Board (LaPorte County): Blair Milo, Mayor of La Porte
  • Executive Board (LaPorte County): Dave Decker, LaPorte County Commission
  • Executive Board (Porter County): Kevin Breitzke, Porter County Surveyor
  • Executive Board (Porter County): Greg Stinson, Porter Town Council
  • Executive Board: Representative Ed Soliday, Governor's Appointee

These officers will serve in these positions for 2016, with an election of new officers in January of 2017. Per its state enabling legislation, the NIRPC Full Commission meets four times per year, with the Executive Board meeting in the remaining months.

The Commission also welcomes fifteen new appointments to the body. They are:

  • Kyle W. Allen, Sr., Lake County Commission
  • Christine Cid, Lake County Council
  • Dave Shafer, Town of Munster
  • Rick Ryfa, Town of Griffith
  • Will Farrellbegg, Town of Lowell
  • Jack Jeralds, Town of Schneider
  • Sylvia Graham, Porter County Council
  • Nicole Markovich, Town of Kouts
  • Kathryn Kniola, Town of Ogden Dunes
  • Toni Biancardi, Town of Burns Harbor
  • Jeanette Bapst, Town of Dunes Acres
  • Ron Meer, City of Michigan City
  • Nick Meyer, Town of Long Beach
  • Thomas Fath, Town of Westville
  • Fred Siminski, Town of Hebron

Agendas, minutes, resolutions, and other information regarding these and other NIRPC committees are available on NIRPC's website at . Requests for alternative formats may be directed to Mary Thorne, 219-763-6060, ext. 131, or . TTY users may contact him by calling Relay Indiana at 711.

NIRPC is the Metropolitan Planning Organization and regional council of local governments for the three counties of Northwest Indiana. NIRPC provides the forum for local elected officials, regional, leadership, and citizens to address regional issues relating to transportation, the environment and community and economic development. NIRPC seeks to develop consensus solutions with the broadest participation.