Dusty Rhode Portage Boys & Girls Club Members Recognized

By: Boys & Girls Clubs of Porter County Last Updated: May 13, 2010

On April 17, the Dusty Rhode Portage Boys & Girls Club held their annual Awards Night to recognize members for their accomplishments during the year. portage-junior-youth-of-the-year Awards were given for Youth of the Year, Junior Youth of the Year, Character and Leadership and each area in the Club awarded certificates to members for “Spirit”, “Helping Hands” and Area Achiever.

Following are the members who received recognition during the event.

Arts & Crafts

Spirit Awards:
India Comer, Sarah Kritlow, Mateo Moreno, Brionna Schultz, Zachary Torres, Juliet Zuniga
Helping Hands: Quinlan Doolin, Chloe Hemminger, Valerie Sams, Hallie Vanover, Makaela Voyles
Area Achiever: Serina Burgos

Biddy Room

Spirit Awards:
I’Yairra Buchanan, Shannon Gaffney, Ryan Salinas, Taylor Sullins, Makaela Voyles
Helping Hands: Jonathan Imhoff, Hayley McCumber
Area Achiever: Cornelius McGill

Computer Lab

Spirit Awards:
Lonny McCarley, Mateo Moreno, Colleen Pope, Max Rivera, Asia Serles, Anas Shafiq, Xander Walker
Helping Hands: Patrick Alaniz, Quinlan Doolin, Manuel Rivera, Kyle Simmons
Area Achiever: Alexis Ortiz-Milland

Front Desk

Junior Staff Leadership: Lailah Abdulla, Jackie Alaniz, Haley Clark, Jessica Golec, Kamara Harris, Kaitlynn Schmick
Helping Hands: Joey Abeyta, Patrick Alaniz, Bailey Gaffney, Sierra Prater
Area Achiever: Serina Burgos

Games Room

Spirit Awards: Celeste Albanice, Ashley Alexander, Andrew Chandler, Savannah Herron, Golf Junyanid, Max Rivera, Gabby Sams, Mattie Tengdin
Helping Hands: Jose Miranda, Derrie’ Sanders, Brittany Sederburg, Gavin Short
Area Achiever: Tanner Hampton


Spirit Awards: Megan Bennett, Brandel Clayton, Ray Hall, Steven Lush, Joshua Oliver, Nickolas Ortiz, Andy Santiago
Helping Hands: Spencer Doolin, Golf Junyanid, Tyler Simmons, Gage Welbourne
Area Achiever: Zachary Torres

Individual Services

Spirit Awards: Bailey Gaffney, Jazmine Hernandez, Savannah Herron, Kyle Jackson, Miles Luke, Tatyana Schmitt, Gavin Short
Scorekeepers: Sierra Prater, Samantha Rivera
Torch Club: Ashley Alexander, Canaan Cooper, Jazmine Hernandez, Savannah Herron, Kyle Jackson, Jasper McKnight, Michaella Mitchell, Sarina Rodriguez, Tatyana Schmitt, Hallie Vanover, Summer Vardaman
Helping Hands: Veronica Gardner, Savannah Herron, Sarina Rodriguez, Brittany Sederburg
Area Achiever: Ashley Alexander & Jasmine Simpson
Coach of the Year: Tom Fletcher

Learning Center

Spirit Awards: Gabriel DeJesus, Griffin Doolin, Bailey Gaffney, Felicia Morales, Jose Morales, Katie Woods
Helping Hands: Sharon Earley, Eric Mayden, Tatyana Schmitt, Michael Woods
Power Hour: Veronica Gardner, Matthew Mayden
Area Achiever: Makayla Earley

Link & Learn

Helping Hands: India Comer, Sarah Kritlow
Area Achiever: Rogelio Hernandez
Volunteer of the Year: Sheila Grow

Teen Room

Spirit Awards: Brandel Clayton, Jakob Kerr, Nicholas Ortiz, Zachary Torres, DaVonte Williams
Helping Hands: Xavier Borom, Bernard Clayton
Area Achiever: Jose Valladolid

Junior Youth of the Year presented to the member 13 years old or younger, who has shown exemplary character, citizenship, and participation - Sarina Rodriguez

Character & Leadership award for the Club member who embodies the Boys & Girls Club mission of honesty, fair play, and sportsmanship - Nickolas Ortiz

2010 Forrest L. Rhode Youth of the Year Youth of the Year -displaying outstanding qualities in the areas of service to the Club, community and family; academic performance; moral character; and life goals - Vaneshca Rivera

For information about the Dusty Rhode Portage Boys & Girls Club tour the Club at 5895 Evergreen Avenue, call 762-4613 or visit www.bgcpoco.org.

Pictured is Dusty Rhode Portage Boys & Girls Club Junior Youth of the Year Sarina Rodriguez.