All-DAC Wrestling Team Named; LC’s Robinson Named MVP

By: Duneland Athletic Conference Last Updated: February 25, 2014

merrillville-wrestling-2014The Duneland Athletic Conference recently released the 2013-14 All-Conference team and named state champion Gelen Robinson of Lake Central the most valuable wrestler.

Merrillville won the conference title, and was followed by Crown Point, Portage, Chesterton, Valparaiso, Lake Central, La Porte and Michigan City.


Weight Class Wrestler School

106 Jack Tolin Chesterton

113 Michael Garza (State 7th) Merrillville

120 Gaige Torres Portage

126 Clarence Johnson (State 7th) Merrillville

132 Zach Donaldson Crown Point

138 Jacob Covaciu (State-Runner Up) Merrillville

Steve Lawrence (7th State) Portage

145 Isaac Rentas (5th State) Merrillville

Jake Sebahar (3rd State) Lake Central

152 Darden Schurg (State-Runner Up) Crown Point

Willie Armstrong (7th State) Merrillville

160 Sawyer Hallas Chesterton

170 Alex Katsafaros Chesterton

182 Michael Eldridge La Porte

195 Morgan Kral Chesterton

220 Gelen Robinson (State Champion) Lake Central

285 Shawn Streck (3rd State) Merrillvile

Most Valuable Wrestler Gelen Robinson Lake Central